skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:


Lincolnshire is a large county; in England the biggest after Yorkshire. It is divided into the three parts; Holland (the southwest), Kesteven (the southeast) and Lindsey (the north). The county lies along the North Sea coast and extends from the Humber estuary in the north to Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire in the south. The North Sea coast runs into the sea with long tidal mudflats and sandy beaches for its whole length, so that the tide may run out a mile from where the map shows. The southern end of the county’s coast is part of the Wash. Lincolnshire is mainly flat with a great deal of drained fenland particularly in the south of the county. There is one remarkable range of hills; the Lincoln Edge, a narrow ridge which runs in a straight line almost due north for some forty miles, through Lincoln and on, though “the Heights” as it is known, will rarely reach even 200 feet above sea level. Only the Lincolnshire Wolds in western Lindsey and the hills spreading out of Leicestershire into Kesteven have any claim to altitude. The land of Lincolnshire is rich arable land. The City of Lincoln stands on the Lincoln Edge, tumbling down to the River Withan and up again. It is a city of mediæval charm, with a great castle at its peak. At the northern edge of the county are the Humber towns, Cleethorpes and Grimsby. The latter is a port town. Immingham too, near Grimsby, is a main port for the Norwegian trade. At the very opposite end, on the southern border with Northamptonshire, Stamford is a jewel built in rich Barnack rag stone, which has made it every producer’s favourite regency film set.

County Facts

County Town: Lincoln

Main Towns: Boston, Bourne, Cleethorpes, Gainsborough, Grantham, Grimsby, Holbeach, Lincoln, Louth, Scunthorpe, Spalding, Stamford.

Main Rivers: Trent, Welland, Ancholme, Witham, Brant, Glen, Bain, Steeping.

Highlights: Boston Stump; Carr Dyke, Bourne; Lincoln Cathedral; Skegness; Tattersall Castle; the Wolds.

Highest Point: Normanby Top, The Wold, 551 feet.

Area: 2,646 sq miles

County Flower: Common Dog-violet

County Day: 1st October (Lincolnshire Rising 1536)