skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:


Kinross-shire is, after neighbouring Clackmannanshire, the smallest of the counties. Kinross-shire lies inland, caught between Perthshire and Fife, with a short border also with Clackmannanshire. It consists of a low plain surrounded by hills. At the heart of this little shire is Loch Leven, at 4000 acres the largest loch in the Scotish lowlands, and an internationally importance bird sanctuary. The ruins of Loch Leven Castle where Mary, Queen of Scots was once imprisoned stand in a small island on the loch. The county is predominatly argicultural, though is increasingly becoming a commuter area for Perth, Dundee and Stirling.

County Facts

County Town: Kinross

Main Towns: Kinross, Milnathort.

Main Rivers: Garney, North Queich, South Queich.

Highlights: Kinross House; Loch Leven; Lochleven castle; Cleish Hills.

Highest Point: Innerdouny Hill, 1631 feet.

Area: 73 sq miles

County Flower: Holy-grass