skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:

Glamorgan / Morgannwg

glamorgan Glamorgan (Morgannwg), on the northern coast of the Bristol Channel, is the southernmost and most populous county in Wales. Glamorgan contains the great cities of Cardiff and Swansea amongst many smaller towns. The northern part of the County is a mountainous area, dissected by deep narrow valleys, with urbanisation typified by ribbon devlopment. Although the coal industry, which shaped these valleys and their communities, has now disappeared, this area remains heavily populated with light industry and the service sector now providing the economic base. The Vale of Glamorgan, a lowland area mainly comprising farmland and small villages stretches across most of the south of the county from Porthcawl to Cardiff. In contrast to the cities and valleys, much of the Vale remains unspoilt and rural. Further west, beyond Swansea, lies the Gower penisula, a place of renowned scenic beauty and sea air. Cardiff, at the southeastern end of Glamorgan, is the cultural centre of Wales, and its capital, It sits on a wide bay, now barraged. The city is undergoing ambitious redevelopment. Nearby the village city of Llandaff is the seat of an ancient bishopric. Swansea, Wales’ second city and Cardiff’s great rival, lies in the south-west of the county, around the grand sweep of Swansea Bay, immortalised in Bryan Martin Davies’ Glas. The County has a wide and diverse economic base including: public administration, agriculture, light industry, manufacturing, service sector, tourism.

County Facts

County Town:  Cardiff Main Towns: Aberavon, Aberdare, Barry, Caerphilly, Llantrisant, Maesteg, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath, Pontypridd, Port Talbot, Swansea.

Main Rivers: Taff, Ely, Rumney, Daw, Ogmore.

Highlights: Cardiff Castle; Caerphilly Castle; Castell Coch; Glamorgan Heritage Coast; Gower; Tinkinswood burial chamber.

Highest Point: Craig-y-llyn, 1969 feet. Area: 845 sq miles

County Flower: Yellow Whitlowgrass