skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:

County Armagh

Armagh is an inland county of Ulster. County Armagh is largely agricultural. There are no major rivers apart from the Blackwater separating Armagh from Tyrone, and the Newry, separating it from County Down. Both rivers fall into Lough Neagh, which thus forms Armagh’s northern border. Between the river valleys is a more hilly district. The City of Armagh is the seat of the Primate of All Ireland; the Archbishop of Armagh. The claims of Armagh as a seat of power are part of an ancient tradition leading back to the nearby site of Emain Macha, the royal seat of the Kings of Ulster which appears in the legend of Cú Chulainn.

County Facts

County Town:  Armagh

Main Towns: Craigavon, Crossmaglen, Portadown, Lurgan, Tandragee, Loughgall.

Main Rivers: Blackwater, Bann, Callan, Newry.

Highlights: Armagh Planetarium; County Museum, Armagh; Slieve Gullion Forest park; Palace Stables Heritage Centre.

Highest Point: Slieve Gullion, 1893 feet.

Area: 512 sq miles

Flower: Cowbane