skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:


Britain’s smallest county, Clackmannanshire lies between Perthshire and Stirlingshire, bounded by the River Forth, touching also Kinross-shire and Fife. “The Wee County” is a countrified county of farms and small settlements. In the north are the low lying Ochil Hills, a highlight being the imposingly sited Castle Campbell, overlooking the chasm of Dollar. In the south the land is low-lying with small towns and some industry. The Mill Heritage Trail enables the visitor to gain an appreciation of the prominent role that sheep farming plays in the present and past of the county.

County Facts

County Town: Clackmannan

Main Towns: Alloa, Clackmannan, Dollar, Menstrie, Tillicoultry.

Main Rivers: Black Devon.

Highlights: Cambuskenneth Abbey; Castle Campbell; Dollar Glen; Wallace Monument, Abbey Craig.

Highest Point: Ben Cleuch, 2363 feet.

Area: 48 sq miles

Flower: Opposite-leaved Golden-saxifrage