skip to main content

Be County-Wise and get to know the Historic Counties!

Search for:


Aberdeenshire is a Highland county. Its coastline rounds the “Cold Shoulder” of the Highlands, Buchan, on which coast are the fishing towns of Fraserburgh and Peterhead. The county’s coast then stretches round to the county town, Aberdeen and the River Dee, the lower reaches of which form its southern border with Kincardineshire. The coast is largely rocky with few headlands. Aberdeenshire reaches inland along the valley of the Don and up the Dee deep into the Grampian Mountains. In these inland parts the county beyond Buchan are mountain and forest, but with fertile valleys. The City of Aberdeen is the landward heart of the North Sea oil business. This has made Aberdeen one of Britain’s wealthiest towns and also a centre of engineering excellence. Aberdeen is home to one of the four ancient universities of Scotland. Inland, Aberdeenshire contains several “Munroes” (mountains over 3,000 feet), of which the highest is Ben Macdhui, standing at 4,296 feet, on the Banffshire border.

County Facts

County Town: Aberdeen

Main Towns: Aberdeen, Ballater, Braemar, Dyce, Fraserburgh, Huntly, Inverurie, Peterhead.

Main Rivers: Dee, Don, Ythan, Deveron.

Highlights: Balmoral; Slains Castle, Peterhead; Provost Skene’s House, Aberdeen; Loanhead Stone Circle.

Highest Point: Ben Macdhui, 4269 feet.

Area: 1,950 sq miles

Flower: Bearberry